Table of Contents
Collin County Attorney Writ Bonds / Immediate Jail Release
As a resident of Collin County, Texas, you may find yourself or a loved one facing charges that have led to an arrest. In situations where you are arrested for suspicion of having committed a crime, a qualified licensed attorney can have an inmate released from jail within hours instead of possible waiting for days to have a bond set by a judge or magistrate as long as the charge is not a felony charge, a traffic ticket, or an assault charge.
You need a Collin County defense lawyer in your corner who can start fighting back right away and file an attorney writ bond to be released from jail. Our law firm is available 24/7 to assist you and/or your loved one. With over 22 years of combined experience, our lawyers have earned a reputation both in and out of the courtroom. We’re ready to start developing a targeted, aggressive defense strategy to protect your future.
Don’t wait to take action when you’re facing serious criminal charges. Call our law offices in Prosper, Texas, today to schedule a free consultation.
How can I get out of jail after being arrested?
In Texas, when a person is arrested, they must see a Collin County Magistrate Judge who will determine the amount of bond or bail to set for someone’s release from custody/jail. The normal process is if you are arrested on one day by a local police department in Collin County, that local police department will book you into the system (mug shot, fingerprints, etc.) and you will wait in a jail cell until that local police department transfers the person to the Collin County Detention Center either late in the day or in the middle of the night.
Once in Collin County you WILL be booked in again unfortunately, which will be done before the Collin Country Magistrate Judge arrives around 8-11a.m. to arraign the person and then set a bond. Arraignment means the Magistrate Judge will read the initial police report and determine the proper bond amount to set for release from jail. Thereafter, once a bond is set and a bondsman is hired or a cash bond is posted, then it can take another 6-12 hours to be released on a weekday or 8-16 hours to be released on a weekend.
Is it possible to get out of jail earlier in a few hours without waiting such a long time?
This is a confusing answer, but it is yes and no. If you have not seen a Magistrate Judge yet and you are charged with a misdemeanor offense (Class A or B Misdemeanor) then you MAY be eligible to have a Texas licensed attorney file an Attorney Writ Bond for immediate jail release in Collin County. The MAY wording is because if there are any violent misdemeanor offenses such as Assault Causes Bodily Injury Family Member (Domestic Violence), then you are not eligible for an Attorney Writ Bond for immediate jail release because you will need to see a Magistrate Judge who will set certain bond conditions or even an Emergency Protective Order. Thus, Assault Family Violence cases are not eligible to have an attorney get the arrested individual out immediately. Also, all Class C Misdemeanors are not eligible for an Attorney Writ Bond.
So who would be eligible for an Attorney Writ Bond in Collin County?
First, the arrested individual must not have seen a Magistrate Judge for an arraignment and setting of a bond. Second, the arrested individual must have been charged with a misdemeanor criminal offense in Collin County. Felonies are NOT eligible at all for an Attorney Writ Bond in Collin County for immediate jail release and all arrested individuals for a felony offense MUST see a Magistrate Judge in Collin County. Third, the misdemeanor offense charged in Collin County must not be considered a violent offense such as any Domestic Violence or Assault Causes Bodily Injury Family Violence. The types of misdemeanor criminal arrests which an arrested person in Collin County can get immediate jail release with an Attorney Writ Bond are as follows:
- DWI 1st (Class B Misdemeanor)
- DWI 1st Above .15 (Class A Misdemeanor)
- DWI 2nd (Class A Misdemeanor)
- Shoplifting or Theft of Property $100-$750 (Class B Misdemeanor)
- Shoplifting or Theft of Property $750-$2500 (Class A Misdemeanor)
- Possession of Marijuana under 2 ounces (Class B Misdemeanor)
- Possession of Marijuana 2-4 ounces (Class A Misdemeanor)
- Possession of a Dangerous Drug (Class A Misdemeanor)
Why are Attorney Writ Bonds in Collin County much more expensive than posting a bond?
This is because an Attorney Writ Bond is a conveniency option for people who do not want to sit and wait in jail in Collin County for 24-36 hours before bonding out of the Collin County Detention Center. If you are charged with a misdemeanor, then you WILL receive a bond amount that can range from a Personal Recognizance Bond up to a $15,000 bond that will be set by the Collin County Magistrate Judge the following day after your arrest when they review the initial police report on the misdemeanor criminal offense. Attorney Writ Bonds in Collin County can be quite expensive due to the unanticipated work involved and travel back and forth between the local jails and the Collin County Detention Center to get someone released from a local jail or directly from the Collin County Detention Center on the qualifying misdemeanor charge(s). For example, McKinney and Prosper do not have local jails so they transport all arrested individuals to the Collin County Detention Center where you will see a Magistrate Judge the next day. You can also get an Attorney Writ Bond for the qualifying misdemeanor charge even if you are already at the Collin County Detention Center. We are always 100% up front and honest with our potential Attorney Writ Bond clients so that they can get out much cheaper once the arrested party sees a Collin County Magistrate Judge.
When can an Attorney Writ Bond be posted by a Licensed Texas Attorney?
We are available to post Attorney Writ Bonds on weekdays and weekends because local jails typically do not have a Judge or Magistrate Judge on call most of the time. Our office has an attorney available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.
How do we get this process started ASAP to get my loved one or friend out of any Collin County Jail as soon as possible?
We do not need to meet in person with you. Everything can be done from your phone or computer. This includes everything from the Contract to the payment via credit card or debit card. If you would like to pay cash, then we would obviously have to meet in person. When you call the Edgett Law Firm, PC you will talk to a live person who will forward your information to our attorneys to speak to within minutes of your call.
Does the Attorney Writ Bond include the defense of the criminal charge a person is arrested for?
No, it does not. However, we do offer discounted attorneys fees to defend the case if you contract for both the Attorney Writ Bond and the defense of the criminal charge. We can usually offer a 15% discount on our normal defense rates. If you just hire us initially for the Attorney Writ Bond, then you still have the ability and opportunity to hire us later and we can reduce the attorney fees cost for the defense of said charge by 5% to save you some money on handling the entire case from beginning to end. Please contact our office at 972-424-0760 for an immediate free consultation. Our phones are answered 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. We look forward to helping you and your loved one through this long process.
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Collin County Defense lawyer
At Edgett Law Firm, P.C., we believe that every defendant is entitled to the strongest defense possible. If you’ve been charged or have been suspected of a crime, don’t hesitate. Call an experienced Collin County defense lawyer today at 469-949-3414.
We have a proven track record for achieving success for our clients when the odds are against them. We also offer a free consultation so that you can learn more about our legal practice and how we can help.