Were you recently arrested on DUI charges in Collin County, TX? Don’t make the mistake of brushing off the incident–you could be facing jail time and significant financial penalties. An aggressive Collin County DUI lawyer at Edgett Law Firm can fight to avoid these harsh consequences.
Since 2010, our legal team has fought to protect the rights of clients charged with driving under the influence in Collin County and across North Texas. Our reputation for success precedes us into the courtroom–and we’re ready to use our skills to your advantage.
If you were arrested, don’t wait to get legal help. Call our law offices in Collin County, Texas, to schedule a free consultation with an experienced defense lawyer who will fight for you.
How Edgett Law Firm Can Help if You Were Arrested on DUI Charges in Collin County
Even a simple first offense DUI can have harsh consequences. If your license is suspended, you might have a hard time getting to work. You’re also facing potential jail time and hefty financial fines. Prosecutors will often seek the harshest possible penalties, even for a first offender.
Establishing an attorney-client relationship with an experienced Collin County criminal defense lawyer gives you the best shot at avoiding those consequences. Here at Edgett Law Firm, we have over 22 years of experience between us. Our nationally-recognized trial lawyers know how to build a strong defense designed to protect your freedom and future.
Remember, if you were arrested on DUI charges, it’s important to act fast. If you don’t request an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days of your arrest, your license will automatically be suspended 40 days later.
When you hire our lawyers, you can expect that we will:
- Make sure your constitutional rights are respected throughout the legal process
- Negotiate with police and prosecutors to minimize any negative consequences you might face
- Schedule an ALR hearing immediately
- Get the evidence you need to support your defense at the ALR hearing and through the legal process
At Edgett Law Firm, our Collin County criminal defense lawyers are ready to get to work immediately. We know the stakes are high–and we’ll do everything possible to protect you. All you have to do is call our law offices today to get started.
Overview of DUI Laws in Texas
Under Texas Penal Code Section 49.01, it’s illegal to operate any type of motor vehicle while intoxicated. The DUI laws apply regardless of the type of motor vehicle involved. In other words, you can be arrested for operating a boat, plane, or even an amusement park ride while intoxicated.
“Intoxicated” for this purpose means not having normal use of mental and physical faculties because of:
- Controlled substances
- Drugs or dangerous drugs
- Any combination of these substances
If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is at least 0.08%, the law presumes that you don’t have the normal use of your mental and physical faculties. In other words, the law presumes that you’re driving while intoxicated (DWI). Commercial drivers face even stricter standards. The legal limit for commercial drivers is only 0.02%.
On the other hand, if your BAC reading is at least .15%, you can face enhanced penalties under the Texas DUI laws.
Simple DUI charges apply in most cases involving driving while intoxicated. However, your charges could be complicated by a number of factors.
At Edgett Law Firm, we can also help if you were charged with:
- Second or third-offense DUI
- DUI with a minor child in the vehicle
- Intoxication manslaughter
- Intoxication assault
Note that the 0.08% BAC limit only applies if the DUI involves an adult with a traditional state driver’s license. Texas has a zero-tolerance policy for minors. Minors can be arrested on DUI charges if they have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system while operating a motor vehicle.
Driving under the influence can have a huge impact on students. If your child was arrested on DWI charges, it’s important to take the charges seriously–or face potentially lasting consequences.
Breath Test Refusal
Drivers who are asked to take a breath test often make the mistake of thinking this can help them avoid DUI charges entirely. Unfortunately, that’s not the case. Under Texas law, every driver automatically consents to a breath test when they get behind the wheel. This is what’s known as the “implied consent law”.
Texas DUI law doesn’t require a breath test to convict. Even if you refuse, law enforcement can bring charges based on their observations during the traffic stop. Further, your license will automatically be suspended if you refuse the breath test.
If you refuse a breath test, law enforcement can request a warrant to obtain a blood test or breath sample. You should also contact a DWI lawyer right away to avoid an automatic license suspension.
What are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Collin County, Texas?
Penalties for a DUI conviction in Texas depend on the circumstances of the arrest. Drivers with prior DUI convictions will face harsher penalties the second time around. If a minor was present in the vehicle or someone was hurt, the penalties become even steeper.
All DUI convictions can result in:
- Jail time
- Financial penalties
- License suspension
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (and associated costs)
- Insurance penalties and surcharges
- License renewal surcharges
- Difficulties maintaining professional licenses
The amount of jail time and level of financial penalties depend upon the circumstances. For a first-offense DUI conviction, you’ll face Class B misdemeanor charges that carry:
- Up to $2,000 in financial fines
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Loss of your driver’s license for up to one year
A second-offense DUI is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas. Penalties can include:
- Up to one year in jail
- $4,000 in penalties
- Loss of your driver’s license for up to two years
Many people wonder whether a DUI is a felony in Texas. The answer might be yes. A third or subsequent DUI can be charged as a felony. That means you’ll be facing:
- Between two and ten years in prison
- $10,000 in fines
- A suspended license for up to two years
Conviction on DUI charges can also result in mandatory drug and alcohol counseling, educational courses, and surcharges just to maintain your license after you get it back.
DUI With Child Endangerment
Driving with a child in the vehicle is a state jail felony. If convicted of a DUI with a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle, you can be charged with child endangerment. You might face:
- An additional $10,000 fines
- Up to two years in prison
- An additional 180-day license suspension
Drunk driving with a minor in the vehicle is serious. If you were charged, call our law firm today to schedule a free consultation to learn more about how we can protect your legal rights.
Intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony in Texas. If you’re in an accident and someone is killed, you could face up to twenty years in state prison–in addition to the other penalties that typically apply in DUI cases.
What Defenses Can Be Raised if I’m Accused of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs?
It’s easy to feel like you don’t have any defense options if you were arrested on DUI charges. After all, most alcohol-related DUIs rely on a breathalyzer machine’s analysis–and it can be hard to imagine fighting the findings of a machine.
Don’t make the mistake of thinking you can’t fight back. An experienced DUI defense attorney at Edgett Law Firm can help. We know the ins and outs of the DUI laws in Collin County–and we know that the police don’t always get it right. We’ll do everything possible to build a strong, aggressive defense in your case.
Common defenses to DUI charges include:
- The police lacked probable cause for the traffic stop
- The police lacked probable cause to administer the breathalyzer
- Problems with the maintenance or operation of the breathalyzer machine
- Errors in the chemical testing administered in your case
- Constitutional violations
- Gaps in the arresting officer’s training or administration of the field sobriety testing
Determining probable cause in DWI cases can make or break your case. To convict, law enforcement must be able to establish that they had probable cause to pull you over in the first place. They also have to show that they had probable cause to administer field sobriety testing.
You don’t have to accept the police findings at face value. Our DWI attorneys will carefully evaluate the evidence to make sure the police followed the law. We might be able to have your breath test results thrown out entirely in some cases.
Schedule a Free Consultation With a Collin County DUI Lawyer Today
The courts in Texas take driving while intoxicated seriously. Law enforcement officers will aggressively pursue a conviction. You deserve a skilled Collin County DUI lawyer in your corner to protect your rights. If you were arrested on DUI charges, don’t hesitate to call Edgett Law Firm today to schedule a free consultation.
We represent clients facing criminal charges in Fort Worth, Denton County, and across North Texas.