Plano Second-Offense DWI Attorney

For those who have been arrested for a second DWI, there is hope. While you may feel like there’s a huge uphill battle to overcome, the Edgett Law Firm can help you form a strong defense. Our team is led by a Top 100 Trial Lawyer and offers zealous advocacy.

Enlist the help of our Plano DWI lawyer and receive aggressive and dedicated representation. Get started on your free consultation by calling (972) 424-0760.

Penalties for a Second DWI

arrested man with handcuffs

A second DWI in Texas is considered a Class A misdemeanor. Unlike other states, Texas does not have a lookback period that ignores previous DWI convictions after a certain number of years.

In other words, if you were arrested for a DWI more than 30 years ago, it will be used in considering second-offense DWI charges.

The penalties for a second-offense DWI might include the following:

  • Fines of up to $4, 000
  • Minimum of 1 month and up to 1 year in jail
  • Community service between 80 to 200 hours
  • Court-ordered rehabilitation or substance abuse counseling

You may also have your license taken away during an administrative hearing with the Texas Office of Administrative Hearings. You will only have 15 days to schedule this hearing, where the evidence will be evaluated to determine whether or not you were driving while intoxicated and if your license should be taken away.

Our McKinney DWI Attorneys can help make sense of your situation and represent you when your time in court comes.

Put an Award-Winning Lawyer in Your Corner

With extensive experience in all facets of criminal law, our McKinney second-offense DWI Attorneys at the Edgett Law Firm is known for dependability, integrity, and honest work ethic. If you have been charged with a second DWI, call us. We take these matters seriously.